How many Ed Sheeran fans are anti stadium Page 2 / 3

richynuts, Apr 28, 12:09pm
Im not a fan of having a new stadium though if I was a business owner like a restaurant or motel I would be all for it. I pay $4400pa in rates as it is not keen on paying anymore.

gammycontent, Apr 28, 4:02pm
An appropriate bed or cover levy would have it paid for

thuntzster, Apr 28, 8:00pm
We don't need two covered stadiums in the South Island. This is a huge waste of resources.
Christchurch, after the earthquakes, has rightfully been gifted much by the taxpayers of NZ.
But to see Cantabrians openly wanting to compete with Dunedin's covered stadium is a kick in the guts. The Dunedin stadium is costing we ratepayers a lifetime of debt and after all the love and care we have sent to Christchurch It feels like a betrayal of kinship. Our stadium is doing ok at last and bringing a new role for our city and provinces.
We cannot accept the Government's decision to provide yet more money to support a competition between two cities so closely aligned when regional development is needed so much more.

jonners2013, Apr 28, 9:49pm
Are you on drugs? Christchurch can’t want things that Dunedin has?

pico42, Apr 29, 12:48am
Because every time there is an event, the influx of people to the city bring with them spending money - accommodation, food, shopping - that contributes significantly to the economy. The operation of a stadium is as a flashpoint for such income.
Those private people/companies - they are also ratepayers.

foamyone, Apr 29, 8:08am
For someone who doesn't live here you sure have a lot to say. Relax.

cagivachick1, Apr 29, 8:37am
sure but why should Dunedin taxpayers pay for YOUR stadium we already have one thats financially crippling us

tygertung, Apr 29, 8:54am
Where is this influx of people going to come from? Dunedin?

jonners2013, Apr 29, 9:34am