Recommend A Good Building Company?

A family member is almost about to buy a section at Prestons. As a rough idea could she build a 165-180m2 dwelling for $300-350k (2 bath, 3 bed)?

I know there have been threads already on this topic (I've emailed her those links) but I was just hoping there might be some new posters who can recommend a good building company or recommend one she definitely shouldn't go with? Thanks

steve198, Sep 22, 7:50 pm

Chris Sinclair Builders, good team and done alot of new house's at Prestons.

kiwi_crusader, Sep 22, 8:36 pm

Can't say enough about Paul McStay Builders - My family have built 3 times with them and my sister is about to start hers(in Prebbleton) as is my friend who is a rebuild in Fendalton. Our place was built 5 yrs ago and to a great standard and a great price. Visit their work and get a quote. you won't regret it. I got a few prices and did my due diligence. I am a crazy researcher. They re not salespeople and not all glitzy. No show homes or showroom - just good certified builders. Approx $1850 a square now I think.

jane310567, Sep 22, 9:11 pm

Z build

tennisfanz, Sep 23, 2:25 am

Thanks for the great feedback so far.

steve198, Sep 23, 10:55 am

Im a brickie and can't fathom why people use the big housing company's when there are private builders out there who do a far far superior job for the same sqm rate as these franchise cowboys i literally see it everyday.
I've worked on many different houses for many different builders and in my humble opinion the best builders (that I've struck) in canterbury are Todd Johnson builders or alternatively Craig Wilson. Either of these outfits "blow the housing companys clean outta the water"

dannyboy24, Sep 23, 10:02 pm

Maiden Builders have done a wonderful job on major repairs on our home. If we ever build again would have no hesitation in using them again. They finished weeks ahead of schedule as well.

katalin2, Sep 24, 9:17 am

Sorry to hijack the thread.